University Graduate School Provost Awards

These awards recognize the outstanding achievements of graduate students and faculty mentors. This year, the awards honor the work of the following individuals:

Outstanding Graduate Student Engagement

Mohsen Taheri, Computer Science - For his work in the South Florida startup community, including StartUP FIU.

Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant

Joshua Raji, Biological Sciences - For educating and inspiring his undergraduate students as well as training new teaching assistants within the department.

Graduate Student Outstanding Creative Project

Mitra Naseh, Social Work - For her project titled “Sheltering Survivors”, exhibited at the Coral Gables Museum.

Graduate Student Outstanding Paper or Manuscript

Claudia Battistel, Modern Languages - For her paper “El ‘Otro’ en nosostros: Inversion de roles en Retorno a Hansala de Chus Gutierrez”, which has been accepted for publication in Hispanic Journal.

Daniel Roncancio, Chemistry and Biochemistry - For his paper titled “A label-free aptamer-fluorophore assembly for rapid and specific detection of cocaine in biofluids”, that was a published in the journal Analytical Chemistry.

Tiyash Parira, Biomedical Sciences - For her paper “Novel detection of post-translational modifications in human monocyte-derived dendritic cells after chronic alcohol exposure: Role of inflammation regulator H4K12ac,” that was published in Scientific Reports.

Outstanding Graduate Program Director

Wei-Chiang Lin, Professor, Biomedical Engineering - For the extensive contributions, he has made to the Biomedical Engineering graduate program.

Mentorship of Graduate Students

Yi Xiao, Associate Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry - For guidance and mentorship of graduate students within the department.

Arvind Agarwal, Professor, Mechanical and Materials Engineering - For guidance and mentorship of graduate students within the department.

The recognition reception and presentation of awards was held on Friday, March 23 from 5-7pm in GC 243. More information can be viewed at Congratulations to all 2018 UGS Provost Award winners!